Urban Decay Naked Skin Foundation – REVIEW

So the full name of this product is actually ‘Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Make up’.. quite a mouthful if you ask me!

IMG_1046

It feels like wearing nothing at all, yet Naked Skin transforms complexions. Skin looks natural, illuminated and bright: like the beautiful skin you were born with. Weightless and virtually invisible, this revolutionary, paragon-free formula creates a flawless, demo-matte finish; light-diffusing spheres make you look professionally retouched. It’s the ultimate in ultra definition.

Infused with Matrixyl 3000 (a powerful anti-wrinkle peptide), protective and brightening Litchiderm, antioxidant green tea, and vitamins, this makeup loads skin with nourishing ingredients.

Here I have two shades, 1.0 and 3.0. Shades ending in .0 are the warm/yellow shades  and any shade ending in .5 are the cool/pink tones depending on which your skin suits best. I have a yellow undertone skin and I am a mixture of the above shades.

I was actually disappointed at the Urban Decay counter as the lady matched me up to a 3.0, it was not until I saw myself in natural light that I realised it was way too dark for me! Eventually I had to purchase my actual matched shade 1.0 – (which is a equivalent to NC15 in Mac Pro-longwear foundation).

Now I have always been rather skeptical with this foundation as I always want a full coverage foundation that lasts all day to help cover my acne and with this foundation saying words like ‘weightless’ it made me think it must be rather thin and therefore provide light coverage.

Well surprisingly I was wrong! As the foundation states, the foundation is in fact weightless and provides medium coverage with even 1 layer. For full coverage foundation I put on 2 layers and I’m ready to go.

Pro’s

  • Doesn’t need a powder to set, it sets demi-matte and non sticky so there is no icky feel to it. After a minute max or drying it’s smooth and soft to the touch!
  • Easy to apply, doesn’t dry too quickly making it easy to work with.
  • A little foundation goes a long way, 2 pumps of foundation can produce one layer.. which brings me onto my next point…
  • The foundation has a pump for clean and easy use and reduces wasting foundation
  • The packaging of the bottle – some people don’t like it but I do, the look of the bottle is what brought me in to trying the foundation. This is saying something I suppose considering I’d never purchased anything from Urban Decay in the past.
  • I would also consider the smell of this foundation as a pro. I’ve noticed a mixture of comments on the smell of this foundation, a few people stating it smelt like paint. I strongly disagree, to me this foundation smells of suncream but only for about 3 seconds. As soon as it starts blending in you can’t smell anything anymore. So for those people who would think it smelt more of paint – the smell doesn’t last long at all.

Con’s

  • The price – this foundation is considered more of a luxury foundation with a RRP of £27. But then for me, I think this price is worth it as it lasts a while and I’m purchasing a good quality foundation.
  • There are 18 shades to this foundation, going from 0.5 to 12.0. This is all well and good but they don’t have an exact match for me like some foundations do. 0.5 is porcelain and almost white but for pink undertone skin. The next shade up is 1.0 which is yellow undertoned like mentioned before but it still has a slight pink undertone to it. Luckily when I’ve finished my entire make up, you can’t noticeably tell that it’s slightly different to the rest of my body.

So overall, there are more pro’s than con’s and the price isn’t a massive con for me (especially for this foundation). I think I may have possibly found my holy grail foundation. This has never been done before! This will definitely be a re-pruchase product! I’m sure of it. I’m yet to see how long the bottle of foundation will last me but I know doubt it will last me a long long time at only 2-4 pumps for me daily. 

One thought on “Urban Decay Naked Skin Foundation – REVIEW”

Leave a Reply

